Environmentalist of the Year Awards

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Reception 5:30pm
Awards 6:30 – 8:30pm
At the Atrium 916
7300 Folsom Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95826

The Environmental Council of Sacramento (ECOS) has been hosting the Environmentalist of the Year Awards since 1973. The awards ceremony is a time to celebrate and recognize the past year’s regional champions and community sustainability successes. It is also a time to reflect on the work we still have in front of us in the year ahead.


Attend the reception for hors d’oeuvres, wine, networking and live music.

Silent Auction

This year we will also host a silent auction! Some of our most exciting auction items include a wooden watch, a gift box from LUSH and a bicycle with saddle bags! More items to be announced soon.

2019 Awardees

This year we will honor leaders in climate action, water sustainability, and active transportation. The people receiving an award this year are Kirin Kumar, Ted Rauh, Ilonka Zlatar, and Laura Putnam. Kirin Kumar has been a relentless advocate for safe routes to school and other walkability issues as Executive Director of WALKSacramento. Ilonka Zlatar is a scientist and an environmental organizer who has taken on the training and mentoring of young people who are stepping up as future leaders in the climate movement. Ted Rauh has been a champion of water management policy in the Sacramento area. He is being recognized for his outstanding work on the Habitat 2020 Water Committee. Laura Putnam is honored as Volunteer of the Year for her dedication to ECOS by contributing her efforts consistently and dependably on a weekly basis for over a year. Please honor these four wonderful individuals by attending and/or sponsoring the event.

Click here view the list of past Environmentalist of Year Awardees.

Become a Sponsor

Please honor these four wonderful individuals by sponsoring and attending the event. One of the primary sources of funding for ECOS comes from sponsors like you. Since 1971, ECOS has been on the front line in the battle for a sustainable planet, a green economy, and environmental justice. We are committed to involving all residents of our region to shape a better future for all, and your sponsorship will enable us to do so.

Click here to learn more about becoming a sponsor.

Ticket Information

Individual Ticket $20

Options for membership renewal along with your ticket purchase:

Individual ECOS membership + 1 EOY ticket = $50 (you save $5)
Family ECOS membership + 2 EOY tickets = $80 (you save $20)
Steward ECOS membership + 2 EOY tickets = $120 (you save $20)
Student/Low Income ECOS membership + 1 EOY ticket = $25 (you save $5)
Lifetime ECOS membership + 2 EOY tickets = $500 (you save $40)

We encourage you to purchase your tickets ahead of time online. If you still want to purchase your tickets at the door, we will appreciate it if you could please bring cash instead of a card to help speed things up at our registration table.

2019 Sponsors

Click here to view the sponsors of the 2019 Awards ceremony, without which we could not do the work that we do!
Thank you, event sponsors!

Event on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1490441914413923/

Hashtag: #sacenviroawards

Share this