Environmentalist of the Year: Seeking Nominations!

ECOS has been hosting the Environmentalist of the Year awards since the early 1970’s. The awards ceremony is a time to celebrate and recognize the past year’s regional champions and community sustainability successes. It is also a time to reflect on the work we still have in front of us in the year ahead.

We are now accepting nominations for the Environmentalist of the Year Awards 2016, happening November 16, 2016. Please send the name of your nominee, a short biography about the person or group, and the reasons why you believe they deserve the award to office [at] ecosacramento [dot] net.

Click here to view a complete list of past awardees

Thank you for your suggestions!

Share this

Environmentalist of the Year Awards 2015

We enjoyed a memorable and inspiring evening with so many of our friends, colleagues and allies at the 42nd Annual Environmentalist of the Year awards on Tuesday, October 13th, 2015! We are grateful for everyone’s participation and the community’s outpouring of support. Congratulations to all of the awardees: the Sacramento Urban Agriculture Coalition in Environmental Justice, Dana Gray for Artist Recognition, Veronica Beaty of the Sacramento Housing Alliance in Housing Advocacy, Michael O’Sullivan of the Sacramento Natural Foods Coop as Volunteer of the Year and Environmentalist of the Year Richard Guerrero of SEIU Local 1000! Photos by ECOS Board Member Anny Huang.

Share this

What a success! Environmentalist of the Year Awards 2014

ECOS hosted the 41st annual Environmentalist of the Year awards ceremony on Tuesday, October 28th, 2014 at the Sierra 2 Community Center. The reception featured Midtown Jazz.

In 2014, ECOS honored the following environmentalists for their impact in the Sacramento region:

Alex Kelter, Environmental Council of Sacramento (ECOS)
Presented by: Christopher Cabaldon, Mayor of West Sacramento

Laurie Litman, 350 Sacramento
Presented by: Martha Turner, 350 Sacramento & Betsy Weiland

Public Servant
Assemblymember Roger Dickinson
Presented by: Sacramento County Supervisor Don Nottoli

Green Business
Hot Italian
Presented by: Jim Brown, Sacramento Area Bicycle Advocates

Green Technical Education and Employment (‘Green Tech’)
Presented by: Leonard Robinson, Green Tech Executive Board Chairman

Early Career Environmentalist
Masud Kiburi-Cunningham
Presented by: Simeon Gant, Green Tech

Congratulations to our 2014 awardees!

Thank you to the sponsors of the Environmentalist of the Year awards!

Alpha Academy Program
Earl Withycombe
Mogavero Notestine Associates
Sean Wirth & Cynthia Garcia
Steve Cohn, Sacramento City Councilmember
Steve Hansen, Sacramento City Councilmember
Sacramento Natural Foods Coop
Service Employees International Union (SEIU) – Local 1000
Sacramento News & Review
Sacramento Valley Chapter of the California Native Plant Society
Andy Sawyer & Carol Bingham
Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District (SMAQMD)
Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD)
El Papagayo
Verbena: Flowers & Trimmings – Roseville
Kara Maria Schunk, Photographer
Anny YuShan Huang, Photographer

Share this