Board of Directors

ECOS encourages participation in our board from members of marginalized communities, including women, youth, those who identify as LGBTQIA, people have migrated from another country and people who live with disabilities.

Executive Committee

BRose Headshot 2


Brandon Rose
brandondrose [at] hotmail [dot] com

Brandon Rose holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Policy Analysis and Planning from UC Davis. Brandon serves on the Fair Oaks Recreation and Park District board and the Sacramento County Treasury Oversight Committee. In addition, he works for the California Air Resources Board, reducing air pollution emissions from the transportation sector.

Rick Guerrero

Immediate Past President

Richard Guerrero
rguerrero [at] seiu1000 [dot] org

Richard Guerrero is an inspiring and engaging leader in simultaneously solving environmental and socioeconomic inequality problems. He has been a regional force in creating an integral environmental movement that seeks a cleaner environment, a green economy, and social/environmental justice. He served as ECOS President from 2012-2015 and was awarded Sacramento’s 2015 Environmentalist of the Year.

Earl resized


Earl Withycombe
earlwithycombe [at] gmail [dot] com

Earl Withycombe is a consulting air pollution engineer, community activist and recovering elected official. Earl’s direct participation in ECOS’ work began in 1992 with advocacy and testimony on the 1993 county general plan update. He has been an indispensable leader on the ECOS board of directors ever since.

Andy Sawyer


Andy Sawyer
andysawyer [at] aol [dot] com

Andy Sawyer is a past president of ECOS, a former chair of Sierra Club California, and chair of the Sierra Club Mother Lode Chapter. An environmental lawyer, Andy has served as chair of the California State Bar Environmental Law Section and the Sacramento County Bar Association Environmental Law Section.

Rob Burness

Co-Chair of Habitat 2020 Committee

Robert Burness
rmburness [at] comcast [dot] net

Rob Burness graduated from UC Davis with a degree in Biological Sciences. Rob served as a land use planner for the Sacramento County Planning Department, where he focused on compact, efficient urban growth that minimizes impact on natural habitat. Rob is also involved with the Sierra Club.

Sean Wirth cropped

Co-Chair of Habitat 2020 Committee

Sean Wirth
wirthsoscranes [at] yahoo [dot] com

After retiring from a career in real estate investing, Sean has dedicated his life to saving habitat in our region. He is currently the conservation chair for the Motherlode Chapter of the Sierra Club, co -chair of Habitat 2020, on the board and ex com of ECOS and a founding member of Save Our Sandhill Cranes.


Co-Chair of Transportation, Air Quality and Climate Change Committee

John Deeter
jdeeter [at] gmail [dot] com

John Deeter has been a board member of ECOS since 2005, and has served as Treasurer (2007-14), and as Co-Chair of the Transportation, Air Quality & Climate Change Committee since 2015. He is a passionate advocate of non-auto modes of transportation and rides his bicycle frequently. He is retired, after 30 years of astronomical research at the University of Washington.

Co-Chair of Transportation, Air Quality and Climate Change Committee

Ralph Propper
rpropper [at] jps [dot] net

Ralph Propper has represented Breathe California of Sacramento-Emigrant Trails on the ECOS Board for several years. He retired in 2016 from the Air Resources Board’s Air Quality and Climate Science Research Section. Since then, he has been an adjunct chemistry professor for the Los Rios Community College District.


Chair of Organizational Development Committee

Jonathan Ellison 
jellison [at] surewest [dot] net

Jon is an attorney in private practice in the Sacramento area with expertise in disabled peoples’ rights, elder law, Social Security, housing law and a passion for preserving the environment. Jon joined the Environmental Council of Sacramento (ECOS) board of directors in 2006 and became President of the Board for 2011- 2012.

Co-Chair of Organizational Development Committee

Juli Raju
4juliraju [at] gmail [dot] com

Juli is a Sacramento advocate and member of the Sacramento Neighborhood Coalition who is passionate about giving back to her community by inspiring, empowering, and engaging others. Juli graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government from California State University, Sacramento and a minor in Peace and Conflict Resolution.

Alex Kelter

Chair of Land Use Committee

Alex Kelter, MD
akmd [at] mac [dot] com

Alex Kelter, MD is retired from the California Department of Health Services (DHS) where he headed its injury and violence prevention branch. The New Partners for Smart Growth propelled him toward a relationship with ECOS upon his retirement. Since then, Alex has been on the Board of Directors of ECOS, and served as President in 2009 and 2010.

At-Large Director Representative

Ron Maertz
ronmaertz [at] surewest [dot] net

Ron Maertz spent his entire career working in environmental public service. Since his retirement, Ron has become actively involved in ECOS, serving as one of ECOS’s representatives to the Smart Growth Leadership Recognition Program Committee and as its Land Use Chair / Co-Chair for the past five years. Ron was selected as Environmentalist of the Year in 2012.

↑ top

At-Large Directors

Barry Wasserman
blw2 [at] mindspring [dot] com

Kristen Peck
kristen [dot] elizabethpeck [at] gmail [dot] com

Lynne Goldsmith
lausmith2 [at] att [dot] net

Nailah Pope-Harden
nailahph [at] gmail [dot] com

Neil Matouka
Neil [dot] matouka [at] gmail [dot] com

Robert Coplin
r_coplin2001 [at] yahoo [dot] com

Ron Maertz
ronmaertz [at] surewest [dot] net

Tanner Kelly
tanner [dot] kelly [at] yahoo [dot] com

Tyrell Lassair
tyrell [dot] lassair [at] gmail [dot] com

↑ top

Member Organization Representatives

Betsy Weiland, Save the American River Association (SARA)
flweiland [at] yahoo [dot] com

Bill Durston, Physicians for Social Responsibility
billdurston [at] gmail [dot] com

Chris Lewis, Sacramento Valley Chapter of the California Native Plant Society (SVC CNPS)
cnpschris [at] gmail [dot] com

Justin D. Garcia, Sacramento Green Democrats
jdgarcia2051 [at] gmail [dot] com

Guy Hall, Sacramento Electric Vehicle Association
guy [dot] t [dot] hall [at] gmail [dot] com

Jack E. Sales, International Dark-Sky Association
jesales [at] surewest [dot] net

Laurie Litman, 350 Sacramento
llitman [at] pacbell [dot] net

Michael O’Sullivan, Sacramento Natural Foods Coop
mosullivan [at] sacfoodcoop [dot] com

Mark Dempsey, Sacramento Citizens Climate Lobby
dempseys123 [at] gmail [dot] com

Vanessa Guerra, Mutual Housing California
vanessa [at] mutualhousing [dot] com

Ralph Propper, Breathe California of Sacramento-Emigrant Trails
rpropper [at] jps [dot] net

Robert Burness, Friends of Stone Lakes National Wildlife Refuge
rmburness [at] comcast [dot] net

Veronica Beaty, Sacramento Housing Alliance (SHA)
veronica [at] sachousingalliance [dot] org

Vanessa Emerzian, Sierra Club Sacramento Group
v_emerzian [at] hotmail [dot] com

↑ top

Share this